AS Roma become the first team to win Europa Conference League

Congratulations to AS Roma on becoming the first ever winners of the Europa Conference League. The Italian's beat Feyenoord 1-0 on Wednesday night to win the first ever edition of the cup.

Jose Mourinho's Roma side were the better team on the night. And despite riding their luck at times in the 2nd half, the Italians were deserving winners. It's the Romans first European trophy since winning the Fairs Cup in 1960/61.

Typical Mourinho Performance

It was a typical Mourinho performance. Keep it tight in the first 20 minutes, settle into the game, and hope the opponents make that one mistake that decides the outcome.

And that's exactly what happened. 

After 32 minutes, Gianluca Mancini aimed a hopeful ball into the box that was missed by Gernot Trauner. Nicolò Zaniolo latched onto it and fired home the only goal of the game.

Talented Feyenoord not Good Enough on the Night

In truth, the 1st half was 45 minutes in which the Dutch team never really got going.

If Feyenoord head coach Arne Slot asked his players for a reaction at half time, he certainly got one. The young talented team came out in the 2nd half and really took the game to Roma.

At times the Romans rode their luck a bit, with Rui Patricio the busier of the two goalkeepers.

The former Wolves keeper needed all his experience - as well as the help of his woodwork on two occasions - to keep Feyenoord out.

Patricio was helped in no small way by central defender Chris Smalling. The former Manchester United defender was outstanding. Putting in a player of the match performance.

Smalling along with his defensive partners, Gianluca Manciniput and Roger Ibañez, were magnificent. They were the bedrock of the win for Jose Mourinho's team. 

Five European Trophies For Jose Mourinho

Speaking of Jose Mourinho; he's won another European trophy.

The win in Tirana ensured he became the first manager to win a European trophy with four different clubs. It also took his overall tally to five major European trophies. Love him, or loathe him, you can't deny he's a serial winner.

Mourinho's European Trophy Wins:-

  • UEFA Cup - Porto 2003
  • Champions League - Porto 2004
  • Champions League - Inter Milan 2010
  • Europa League - Manchester United 2017
  • Europa Conference League - Roma 2022

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.