Bundesliga 2019/20 Round Up

So the 2019/20 Bundesliga season is all over, our round up of what was an unusual season will give you all the details you need to know. Who went down, who got the 4 Champions League places, etc, all the imformation is here.

Werder Bremen complete remarkable Escape act

The line up for the 2020/21 Bundesliga season is complete. Werder Bremen completed their remarkable Bundesliga relegation escape when they drew 2-2 with Heidenheim to complete an away goals victory, and survived to play in the German top flight for another season. 

The two sides drew the first leg of their relegation/promotion play-off fixture 0-0 at the Wesser Stadion, before playing out a 2-2 draw at Heidenheim, to ensure Bremen survived.

In Germany relegation from, and promotion to, the Bundesliga is different to most of the rest of Europe.

Only the bottom two sides automatically go down from the Bundesliga. They are replaced by the top two teams from Bundesliga 2. 

So we now know that Werder Bremen have retained their place in the Bundesliga, but what about all the other issues that have been decided?

Here is our round up of all you need to know about what happened in the 2019/20 Bundesliga season, and how the league will line up for the 2020/21 season.  

Bundesliga Champions 2019/20

Once again, Bayern Munich were the champions of Germany, continuing their recent dominance.

Munich recorded 9 straight wins in the Bundesliga after the German season resumed in mid May. The pivotal match in this run was the 1-0 away win at closest rivals, Borussia Dortmund, just 3 fixtures into the resumption. 

That effectively ended the league as a contest, and enabled Bayern to canter to their 30th league title.

2019/20 Bundesliga Top Goal Scorer

The man at the top of the goalscoring charts was Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich. The Polish striker netted an astonishing 34 times.

Chelsea bound Timo Werner followed closely behind in second place. The German striker found the back of the net 28 times in his final season at RB Leipzig. Third on the list is Jadon Sancho of Borussia Dortmund who scored 17 times.

Who got the 4 Bundesliga Champions League Places?

League winners Bayern Munich took the first of the 4 German Champions League spots. Munich will be joined in next season's Champions League by Borussia Dortmund, RB Leipzig, and Borussia Monchengladbach.

What about the Europa League?

The two automatic Europa League places went to Bayer Leverkusen and Hoffenheim. 

The third place went to Wolfsburg, who finished 7th. Wolfsburg will have to contest the qualifying rounds to get into the full Europa League. While 5th placed Leverkusen and 6th placed Hoffenheim go straight into the main Europa League draw. 

Who got relegated from Bundesliga in 2019/20 season?

Only two sides went down this year, as Bremen won the play-off to stay up. The two relegated sides were Fortuna Düsseldorf and SC Paderborn 07. The unfortunate Düsseldorf only dropped into the relegation zone on the final day of the season.

Who got promoted from Bundesliga 2?

The two teams who will be heading into the Bundesliga for the 2020/21 season are Arminia Bielefeld and VfB Stuttgart.

Arminia were the runaway winners of Bundesliga 2, winning the title by 10 clear points ahead of second placed Stuttgart.

Arminia Bielefeld Schüco-Arena
Arminia Bielefeld's Schüco-Arena will be hosting Bundesliga matches again in 2020/21 season

When does the 2020/21 Bundesliga Season Start?

The Bundesliga 2020/21 start date is now 18th September, and will end on 22nd May 2021.

The season was originally due to begin on the weekend of 21-23 August 2020, but due to the Covid-19 pandemic meaning the 2019/20 season finished late, the start date has now been put back to 18th September.

Who Are The 18 Teams in Bundesliga 2020/21?

The 18 teams who will be competing in the 2020/21 Bundesliga are......

  • Arminia Bielefeld
  • Bayer Leverkusen
  • Bayern Munich
  • Borussia Dortmund
  • Borussia Monchengladbach
  • Eintracht Frankfurt
  • FC Augsburg
  • FC Koln
  • Hertha Berlin
  • Hoffenheim
  • Mainz 05
  • RB Leipzig
  • SC Freiburg
  • Schalke 04
  • Stuttgart
  • Union Berlin
  • VfL Wolfsburg
  • Werder Bremen

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.